connect 2018 • 67 CHICAGO AROUND THE WORLD November, 2017 Over 500 friends of Ireland gathered to celebrate The Ireland Funds 33rd Annual Chicago Dinner held at the Four Seasons Chicago. Guests were led into the ballroom by the Shannon Rovers Pipe Band. Paddy Homan and Jim Cornelison sang the Irish and US national anthems, respectively. Roseann Finnegan LeFevour, Midwest Director of The Ireland Funds; John Fitzpatrick, Chairman of The Ireland Funds Amer- ica; and Kieran McLoughlin, Worldwide President and CEO of The Ireland Funds, thanked the supporters of the dinner and spoke about the mission and impact of the organization. Andrew J. McKenna, Chairman Emeritus of McDonald’s Corporation and Schwarz Supply Source, presented the 2017 Ireland Funds Leadership Award to John McDonough, President and CEO, Chicago Blackhawks. John accepted the award reflecting on what it meant to grow up in an Irish American household. John’s father, also John McDonough, was born in Chicago in 1912, the youngest of 10 children of parents who emigrated from County Mayo, Ireland. After guests enjoyed their dinner, Co-Chair of the Regional Advisory Committee, Devon Bruce introduced the special entertainment, The Undertones, the a cappella group from the University of Notre Dame. Next, Chicago Chair Michael O’Halleran presented the 2017 Corporate Social Responsibility Award to The Ryan Specialty Group. The Ryan Specialty Group was founded in 2010 by Patrick G. Ryan, the founder and former Chairman and CEO of Aon Corporation. Pat and Shirley Ryan were one of the original founders of The Ireland Funds in Chicago. This award recognized the incredible philanthropic work of the Ryan Specialty Group. 33rd Annual Chicago Dinner 1 4 2 5 7 3 6 8 1 Andy McKenna, Lee Stern, Matt Moore 2 Susan & John Gibbons 3 Bob & Rita O’Brien, Nancy & Rich Kehoe, Pat & John O’Brien 4 Patrick & Bridget O’Brien, Margaret Graver 5 Terry Brady, Eamon O’Grady, Cindy Brady, Brian Monks 6 John Fitzpatrick, John McDonough, Andy McKenna, Roseann LeFevour, Kieran McLoughlin 7 University of Notre Dame Undertones 8 Devon Bruce, Andy McKenna, Michael O’Halleran, John McDonough, Patrick Ryan, Tim Turner, Terry McCann, John Fitzpatrick Photos: Dean Battaglia, Jeff Battaglia