13th March, 2009

St. Patrick’s Luncheon

On Friday, March 13th, 2009 1200 lucky people enjoyed what is “undoubtedly” the largest St. Patrick’s Day Luncheon, at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre. The afternoon was filled with great entertainment from traditional Irish dancers and musicians with a spectacular performance from Newfoundland’s “Irish Descendants” who had the room rocking!  This great event included a pre-lunch pub reception, a hearty meal and a post-lunch pub party, all supported by wonderful entertainment.

The great success of our St. Patrick’s Day Luncheon is due to our wonderful sponsors:  Guinness/Diageo Canada, Tourism Ireland, Transat Holidays, I Travel 2000, C.J. Graphics, L.I.U.N.A. (Ontario Provincial District Council), McCague Peacock Borlack McInnis & Lloyd LLP. 

The St. Patrick’s Day Luncheon in Toronto has always been renowned for its “brilliant craic” and a wonderful opportunity to mingle among some old friends while making some new ones!

We congratulate the Chair, Kevin Gallagher, the entire Luncheon Committee, our many wonderful Volunteers and last but no means least, our fantastic Board members who worked tirelessly to make this a great event!

Joining us at this great Luncheon were our head table guests:

Mayor Hazel McCallion – Mayor of Mississauga
Captain Phil Ralph
The Right Honourable John Turner
John Dunne, Patron, Ireland Fund of Canada
Chief William Blair – Toronto Police Chief
Kevin Gallagher, Chair, St. Patrick’s Day Luncheon
Mark Dailey, Citytv and Master of Ceremonies
His Honour, David C. Onley, Lt. Governor
Her Honour Mrs. Ruth Ann Onley
Oliver Murray, Acting Chair, Ireland Fund of Canada
Declan Kelly, Ambassador of Ireland to Canada
Debra Kelly-Ennis, President & CEO – Diageo Canada
Noel Dempsey, Minister for Transport, Government of Ireland
Ashley Prime, British Acting Consul General
Seamus O’Regan, CTV Canada Host

We were also delighted to honour our Irish Persons of the Year: Frankie Benson, Colm O’Brien, Eamonn O’Loghlin and Hugo Straney and our Grand Marshals 2009: Jonathan Kearns and Robert Kearns.