15th March, 2013

Pittsburgh Dinner 2013

Date : 15th March, 2013

6:00pm Reception
7:30pm Irish Cuisine 



David J. Malone
President & CEO, Gateway Financial

Green tie and tux

Press Release 

Gateway Financial President & Ceo David J. Malone
To Be Honored At 37th Annual American Ireland Fund Gala

Gateway Financial President and CEO David J. Malone will be honored at the Pittsburgh American Ireland Fund Gala at Heinz Field on Friday, March 15, 2013.  Mr. Malone will be presented with the AIF Chairman’s Award, which recognizes his exceptional leadership in the community and his charitable activities.

Sy Holzer, president of PNC Bank Pittsburgh will chair the gala, assisted by co-chairs PNC Financial Services Group CEO James Rohr, Pittsburgh Steelers President Arthur J. Rooney, II and former United States Ambassador to Ireland, Daniel M. Rooney.   The gala will be held at Heinz Field East Club Lounge.  A cocktail reception is planned for 6:00 p.m., followed by dinner at 7:30 p.m.

Gala committee members include: Jack and Lisa Barbour, Jeff Bergman, Charles Bogosta, Dr. Glenn Buterbaugh, Andrea Carelli, John Denny, Leo Gerard, Carol Holbay, Dennis Labate, David Morehouse, Michael Mullen, Tony Quatrini, Greta K. Rooney, Patricia R. Rooney, Cliff Rowe, Dave Soltez and Michael Zamagias. 

The Pittsburgh Dinner Gala is part of The American Ireland Fund’s global philanthropic network, which hosts events in 39 cities in 11 countries.  AIF’s mission is to support programs of peace and reconciliation, arts and culture, education and community development throughout Ireland.  For information on sponsorship opportunities and tickets, please contact Theresa Kaufman at Tkaufmanevents@aol.com

This year marks the 37th anniversary of The Ireland Funds, founded in Pittsburgh in 1976 by Sir Anthony J.F. O’Reilly, former chairman of the H.J. Heinz Co. and Daniel M. Rooney.  The American Ireland Fund as it is known today is the result of a merger in 1987 between The Ireland Fund and the American Irish Federation, which was founded in 1963 by President John. F. Kennedy and Eamon de Valera, then president of Ireland.

Previous Chairman’s Award recipients include: Leo W. Gerard, J. Brett Harvey & CONSOL Energy, David S. Shapira & Giant Eagle, UPMC, Sidney Crosby, Archbishop Donald Wuerl, U.S. Congressman John P. Murtha, David M. Roderick, James E. Rohr, Henry & Elsie Hillman & the Hillman family, Jeffrey A. Romoff, Martin G. McGuinn, The John F. & Rhodora J. Donahue Family, William R. Johnson, Bill Cowher, Frank V. Cahouet, Joseph J. Bogdanovich, Robert & Lois Wholey, Sir Anthony J.F. O’Reilly, Daniel M. Rooney & the Rooney Family, Dr. George J. Magove Sr., Paul Lego, Thomas H. O’Brien, and John E. Connelly.