6th November, 2013

Chicago Dinner Gala 2013

The 29th Annual American Ireland Fund Dinner was held Wednesday evening, November 6, 2013 at the Four Seasons Hotel.

Over 600 guests gathered at the sold-out dinner to honor Pat Fitzgerald, Head Football Coach of Northwestern University with the 2013 Leadership Award and to recognize KPMG for its outstanding philanthropic efforts with The American Ireland Fund 2013 Corporate Social Responsibility Leadership Award.

Patrick J. Canning, Managing Partner of KPMG, accepted the award and spoke of their 152,000+ outstanding professionals worldwide working together to deliver value to their clients in 156 countries.  KPMG has offices all across Ireland and serves as a key sponsor for the American Chamber of Commerce Ireland.

Pat Fitzgerald talked about his coaching career and his commitment to his players. Much is expected of these young men both on and off the field and Pat is a terrific role model and inspiration to them. He exemplifies what it means to be a leader and is a worthy addition to the distinguished list of The American Ireland Fund honorees.
Kieran McLoughlin, President & CEO of The Worldwide Ireland Funds gave an update on the impact of The Worldwide Ireland Funds and the Promising Ireland Campaign.

Incoming Chairman of The American Ireland Fund, John Fitzpatrick, CEO of Fitzpatrick Hotel Group NA, was introduced to the Chicago supporters of the Fund.
The proceeds of this record-breaking dinner will benefit The Worldwide Ireland Funds Promising Ireland Campaign to support nonprofit organizations across the island of Ireland and around the world. Hundreds of outstanding organizations assisted by the Campaign are making a vital difference at a time when that support is needed most.  In addition, a local gift will be given to Misericordia, Heart of Mercy Village.

This was a wonderful Irish celebration of family and friends made possible by the extraordinary work of
the Dinner Committee and our Chicago supporters.

Midwest Advisory Board
Thomas F. Meagher, Jr.
Grosvenor Capital Management, L.P.

Devon C. Bruce
Power, Rogers & Smith, P.C.

Dinner Committee Members:

Theodore J. Brombach
XMS Capital Partners

Marilynn K. Gardner
Navy Pier, Inc.

John F. Gibbons
Greenberg Traurig, LLP

John D. Hartigan
EnTrust Securities, LLC

Denis Healy
Turtle Wax

John L. Keeley, Jr.
Keeley Asset Management Corp.

James C. Kenny
Former U.S. Ambassador to Ireland

Thomas R. Kiley
Great Lakes Advisors, LLC
Niamh King
The Chicago Council on Global Affairs

John Lahey
Solomon Cordwell Buenz

Patrick C. Lynch
Chicago Equity Partners, LLC

Eamonn McGrath
Gaelectric North America, Inc.

Andrew J. McKenna
McDonald’s Corporation
Schwarz Supply Source

John J. Murray

Jack O’Callahan
Beanpot Financial Services, Inc.
Olympic Gold Medalist
1980 USA Hockey

James J. O’Connor

Michael D. O’Halleran
Aon Benfield
Aon Corporation

Thomas E. O’Neill

Thomas S. O’Neill
Commonwealth Edison

Marianne O’Shea

Nick Parrish
Chair, Chicago Young Leaders
Grosvenor Capital Management, L.P.

Douglas P. Regan

Bridget Reidy
Exelon Corporation

Patrick G. Ryan
Ryan Specialty Group

Daniel E. Sullivan, Jr.
The PrivateBank

Gavin Tierney
Bimeda, Inc.

Joseph A. Walsh, Jr.
Winston & Strawn