12th August, 2016

Boston Irish Night on Cape Cod 2016

On Friday, August 12th, The American Ireland Fund held its seventh annual “Irish Night on Cape Cod” on the Ocean Terrace at Ocean Edge Resort and Golf Club in Brewster, MA. American Ireland Fund National Board Director and longtime supporter Joe Corcoran and his family were once again the gracious hosts of 140 attendees at the Corcoran’s resort.

The setting, on one of the Cape’s most picturesque terraces overlooking Cape Cod Bay, was accented by a beautiful late summer sunset but, in true Irish fashion, a rain squall gathered and guests were ushered into a welcoming ballroom complete with the raw bar, ice sculpture and the special effects always provided by the Corcorans. While the beautiful view of the sunset from the terrace deck was sacrificed, the air conditioning of the ballroom provided relief from the day’s heat wave.

The American Ireland Fund New England Director and VP of Major Gifts Steve Greeley thanked everyone and spoke about the Irish bond shared by those gathered and The American Ireland Fund’s long tradition of celebrating that bond while delivering real support to many vital Irish non-profit projects. Host Joe Corcoran also welcomed the gathering and spoke about his deep appreciation of his Irish heritage, his admiration for the work of The American Ireland Fund and how much he enjoyed the recent Worldwide Conference of The Ireland Funds, encouraging those gathered to attend next year.

The event’s Chairs Kevin & Rita Gill, Tom & Gina Flannery and Ed & Jenn Murphy led a hard-charging Committee to a most successful night. Committee Members included: Steve & Kathryn Brackett, Jack & Trish Brennan, Jay Calnan, Chris & Nancy Coburn, Kip & Peggy Condron, Bill & Barb Connolly, Jim & Kerrie Coughlin, John & Kathy Drew, Ryan & Maura Fitzpatrick, John & Maureen Hailer, Jay & Linda Hooley, John & Tracee Hynes, Paul Kingston, John & Carla Morey, Tom & Shelly O’Neill, Scott & Nancy Powers, Paul & Mary Beth Sandman, and Jack & Alissa Sebastian.

Many Boston Young Leaders also attended, including Maura Fitzpatrick, Shane & Jessica Early, Mike Greeley, Patrick Burek and Christine Gill.