17th October, 2016

15th Annual Philadelphia Golf Classic 2016

On Monday, October 17th the Philadelphia chapter of The American Ireland Fund hosted their 15th annual golf classic at Philadelphia Cricket Club.

Guests arrived early in the morning for brunch and to warm up on the driving range and putting green.

The golfers were treated to an unseasonably warm summer’s day in mid-October as over 115 golfers headed out on the course to take on the challenging Wissahichon Golf course, complete with a hole-in-one, closest to the pin and longest drive challenge.

After a competitive and fun day on the course, the golfers gathered on the patio for cocktails, hors d’oeuvres and a silent auction.

Following the cocktail hour, the supporters sat down for dinner and the formal program and awards began.

National Director of The Young Leaders, Pat Tully welcomed everyone and thanked the event’s presenting sponsor, Pepper Hamilton LLP as well as the event Co-Chairs, AIF Board Director Mike Gallagher and Jason Early, the Philadelphia Young Leaders Steering Committee Chair.

Pat then showed a video from Honoree, Philadelphia native, Michael Kelly, who could not attend as he was away filming the hit Netflix show, House of Cards. Michael thanked the Philadelphia crowd for the honor and invited them to join him at a private screening when the new season begins.

Following the video, Pat introduced The Ireland Funds Worldwide President & CEO, Kieran McLoughlin. Kieran spoke about the need in Ireland today and how funds from the golf classic would go to support The Ireland Funds grant round, helping organizations across the entire island of Ireland.

Kieran’s remarks were followed by a spirited live auction that included items such as a private party at Philadelphia hot spot, Zavino and golf trips to Palmetto Bluff, SC as well as to Ireland.

The auction was followed by the golf awards and special congratulations to the winning foursome of Greg Dodge (of Zavino), Erik Strid, Drew Millstein and Steve Selver.

Special thanks to the Golf Committee, including Co-Chairs Mike Gallagher and Jason Early as well as Fran Van Kirk, Fran McCartan, Michael Nolan, Chris Carroll, Sean Rooney, Jim Quinlan, Jim Kane, Mike Moran and Pat Ward.